Difference Between Vegan Wine and Regular Wine

We all have different drink preferences. While some prefer to relax with a glass of whisky, others prefer water, wine, beer or a cup of tea. And with the increasing number of vegans and vegetarians, manufacturers are now producing vegan alcoholic drinks including beers and wine. And these are suitable for people who are observing a vegan diet. 

But is all wine vegan? No. Wine is fermented with grapes. Hence, it is an alcoholic grape juice. The fining agents are what differentiates vegan wine and regular wine. How can you know that the wine bottle you are about to open is vegan? Let’s discuss the differences between vegan wine and regular wine. 

What is a Vegan Wine?

Vegan wine is a wine that has not been fined or the fining agents used are natural substances. While some people prefer vegan wine that is not fined, most prefer wine that has been fined with natural ingredients due to the enhanced taste. Some of the ingredients used to fine vegan wine includes activated charcoal, bentonite clay, pea gelatine and silica gel. 

The clarification of vegan wine also takes longer than that of regular wine. As such, the wine needs to be aged for several years. If no fining agents are used, vegan wine tends to have sediment. How can vegans recognize vegan wine? Manufacturers always label the wine as vegan. Also, unfined wine is in most cases vegan since it does not contain the culprit that makes wine non-vegan. This could be different depending on the region. However, vegan wine is not always organic. While the fermentation process may only involve natural ingredients, the grapes used may not be organic. What about the taste? Vegan wine does not taste different from regular wine. 

More about Regular Wine

This is the wine that is sold in most stores. It is a type of wine that is made with fermented juice and fined with different fining agents such as isinglass (made from fish bladders), gelatine (made from animal connective tissue and skin), casein (milk proteins) or albumen (egg whites). These fining agents are derived from animals, making regular wine non-vegan and non-vegetarian. 

The use of these fining agents sticks to particles and makes them large enough to filter. As such, the wine is always clear. The fining agents also remove unwanted colors, odours and haziness. However, some winemakers argue that it removes texture and flavour from the wine. 

Similarities between Vegan Wine and Regular Wine

  • Both are made with grapes
  • Both contain fining agents but differ on where they are derived

Differences between Vegan Wine and Regular Wine

Definition

Vegan wine refers to wine that has not been fined or the fining agents used are natural substances. On the other hand, regular wine refers to wine that is made with fermented juice and fined with fining agents derived from animals.

Fining agents

Vegan wine is fined using activated charcoal, bentonite clay, pea gelatine or silica gel. On the other hand, regular wine is fined using agents such as isinglass (made from fish bladders), gelatine (made from animal connective tissue and skin), casein (milk proteins) or albumen (egg whites).

Availability

Vegan wine is difficult to find. However, more manufacturers are now producing it. On the other hand, regular wine is easy to find and can be found at any store that sell wine. 

Vegan Wine vs. Regula Wine: Comparison Table

Summary of Vegan Wine vs. Regular Wine

The type of fining agents used in wine processing is what differentiates vegan wine and regular wine. Vegan wine is fined using activated charcoal, bentonite clay, pea gelatine or silica gel. On the other hand, regular wine is fined using agents such as isinglass (made from fish bladders), gelatine (made from animal connective tissue and skin), casein (milk proteins) or albumen (egg whites).

FAQs

What makes some wine not vegan?

The use of animal-based fining agents is what makes some wine not vegan. Some of these include isinglass (made from fish bladders), gelatine (made from animal connective tissue and skin), casein (milk proteins) or albumen (egg whites).

Does vegan wine taste different?

No. Vegan wine does not taste different. 

Latest posts by Tabitha Njogu (see all)

: If you like this article or our site. Please spread the word. Share it with your friends/family.

Cite
APA 7
Njogu, T. (2022, February 21). Difference Between Vegan Wine and Regular Wine. Difference Between Similar Terms and Objects. http://www.differencebetween.net/miscellaneous/difference-between-vegan-wine-and-regular-wine/.

MLA 8
Njogu, Tabitha. “Difference Between Vegan Wine and Regular Wine.” Difference Between Similar Terms and Objects, 21 February, 2022, http://www.differencebetween.net/miscellaneous/difference-between-vegan-wine-and-regular-wine/.

Author: Luke Hanson